Skip to content
July 26, 2010 / figgylicious

Honduran Chismol

Chismol is a type of salad or salsa that’s made in some version or another in just about every Latin-American country. Some call it Pico de Gallo, though it varies a lot depending on the country.

In Honduras, we eat Chismol with just about everything. We eat it on grilled meats, fried plantains, steamed yuca or just as a salsa with chips. Like so many Honduran foods, it’s very easy to make in large quantities, and you only need a handful of ingredients. It’s a required side dish in every party you go to, and it’s usually the first thing that people run out of. It’s also very colorful, sure to cheer up any dish.

Ideally, it’s very strong in flavor, but you can change it around depending on your tastes. Same with the proportions. For example, I love it with a lot of lime and almost no green peppers, but MrFig can’t eat too much acidic food and he likes green peppers. So I make it with almost no peppers and almost no lime, then just sprinkle some more lime when it’s on my plate. Here’s how we make it in my house:

(enough for about 6 people)

-5 or 6 plum tomatoes, diced small
-1 large white onion, diced small
-1 green bell pepper, diced small
-lots of lime juice
-lots of salt and pepper
-cumin (optional)
-plenty of cilantro, chopped

Chop it all up and throw it in a bowl. Toss and add the condiments according to taste. Let it sit for a while so that the juices will condense nicely.

For me, the more lime the better. You can also use vinegar instead of lime, but it’s just not the same. Another good idea comes from El Salvador, where they add finely-diced radishes to the chismol.

Today I made some chicken tacos and a big bowl of Chismol. Perfect combination. Enjoy!

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ranylt / Jul 27 2010 1:34 am

    Great post! I adore pico de gallo, or what I shall henceforth always call chismol (unless I’m eating in a Mexican restaurant).

  2. saucywench69 / Jul 27 2010 3:34 pm

    mmm this looks awesome… my friend gave me a similar recipe but when she made hers, it was super spicey and not everyone in my house enjoys that. I shall have to give this a try. maybe with nachos… mmmmmm nachos.

  3. Dita (@amandivitis) / Aug 29 2012 6:59 pm

    I want to use this recipe in an article…but I need permission and I cannot find a contact me button on the page. Please contact me ASAP. gracias!

  4. Tonya Greenway / Aug 26 2013 5:22 pm

    I use basically the same things, but if you like avacado, dice one up and add it to the mix. It puts a twist on something that is already delicious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

